SBU History

Shahid Beheshti University (SBU) established in 1959  (The ex- National University of Iran), started its academic life in 1960 with only 174 students in two faculties: Faculty of Architecture and Urban Planning, and Faculty of Banking and Economics. The first Master's course at SBU was offered in the Faculty of Architecture in 1961, while the first Ph.D. program was introduced in the Faculty of Economics in 1991.

Development of new facilities in the central campus paved the way for increased academic activities, so that by 1978 several other faculties became active at SBU, e.g. Faculties of Literature and Human Sciences, Basic Sciences, Law, Earth Sciences, Statistics and Informatics, and Education and Psychology.

In 1986, the Schools of Medicine and Dentistry of Shahid Beheshti University began its activities independently as Shahid Beheshti University of Medical Sciences, following the merge of some of the treatment and educational units and organizations affiliated to the then Ministry of Health.

 On 13 April 2013,​​​​​​​ Shahid Abbaspour Technical and Engineering Campus  (The former Power & Water University of Technology (PWUT)) was joined to SBU, based on the approval of Development Council of Sciences, Research and Technology Ministry, within the framework of higher education policies, restructuring of water and power industry, and expansion of education and research from Engineering to economic, social and management fields.
SBU combines the tradition of a classical university with the dynamic character of a modern and interdisciplinary scientific enterprise. Since 1990, the university has placed more emphasis on postgraduate, in particular PhD, and research programs, while still aiming to enhance the quality of its well-established undergraduate courses.
Students at the university are inspired by an outstanding and rewarding academic environment not only in Iran but in the region. The University and the members of the academia are at the forefront of world research in many fields, and the teaching is informed by the very latest developments in each discipline.
At the present time, SBU has 20 faculties, including: Letters and Human Sciences, Theology and Religions Studies, Physical Education and Sport Sciences, Law, Physics, Chemistry and Petroleum Sciences, Economics and Political Sciences, Education and Psychology, Mathematical Sciences, Earth Sciences, Biological Sciences and Technology, Management and Accounting, Architecture and Urban Planning, Electrical Engineering (Control and Power),  Electrical Engineering (Electronics and Communication), Computer Engineering and Science, New Technolo​gies and Aerospace Engineering, Nuclear Engineering, Mechanical and Energy Engineering, and Water and Environmental Engineering.
Ten research institutes are also working actively at Shahid Beheshti University: Quran Miracle, Laser and Plasma, Medicinal Plants and Drugs, Family, Environmental Sciences, Cyberspace, Cognitive and Brain Sciences, Fundamental Research of Science and Technology, Science and Technology Studies, and Medical Sciences and Technology.
Today, there are 69 programs at Bachelor's, 208 at Master's and 136 at Ph.D. levels, and there are 7507 BA/BSc, 7388 MA/MSc and 2172 PhD students studying at the university.