About Shahid Beheshti University



Shahid Beheshti University (SBU) is one of the most prestigious universities in Iran. Established in 1959, SBU combines the tradition of a classical university with the dynamic character of a modern and interdisciplinary scientific enterprise. Since 1990, the university has placed more emphasis on postgraduate, in particular PhD, and research programs, while still aiming to enhance the quality of its well-established undergraduate courses. Students at the university are inspired by an outstanding and rewarding academic environment not only in Iran but in the region. The university and the members of the academia are at the forefront of world research in many fields, and the teaching is informed by the very latest developments in each discipline.​


Shahid Beheshti University (SBU) is situated at the foothills of the Alborz Mountains, with a large beautiful space and a rare landscape overlooking the big city of Tehran. SBU has attracted the attention of many of the top students in Iran. The graduates from SBU are engaged at high-level management positions in Iran and even abroad. SBU features the Center for Teaching Persian to Non-Persian Speakers​, libraries with joint educational programs among other scientific centers of the world, dormitories as well as sport and welfare facilities. SBU provides the students interested in learning special skills for job market with professional training.



At the present ​​time, SBU has about 19,000 students, among whom 348 are international. SBU admits scholarship and non-scholarship candidates who are interested in studying in one of the university programs if they have the required scientific qualification.​



Shahid Beheshti University (SBU) established in 1959  (The ex- National University of Iran), started its academic life in 1960 with only 174 students in two faculties: Faculty of Architecture and Urban Planning, and Faculty of Banking and Economics. The first Master's course at SBU was offered in the Faculty of Architecture in 1961, while the first Ph.D. program was introduced in the Faculty of Economics in 1991.

Development of new facilities in the central campus paved the way for increased academic activities, so that by 1978 several other faculties became active at SBU, e.g. Faculties of Literature and Human Sciences, Basic Sciences, Law, Earth Sciences, Statistics and Informatics, and Education and Psychology.

In 1986, the Schools of Medicine and Dentistry of Shahid Beheshti University began its activities independently as Shahid Beheshti University of Medical Sciences, following the merge of some of the treatment and educational units and organizations affiliated to the then Ministry of Health.

 On 13 April 2013,​​​​​​​ Shahid Abbaspour Technical and Engineering Campus  (The former Power & Water University of Technology (PWUT)) was joined to SBU, based on the approval of Development Council of Sciences, Research and Technology Ministry, within the framework of higher education policies, restructuring of water and power industry, and expansion of education and research from Engineering to economic, social and management fields. read more


  • International students: 249


  • 129.5 hectares in four campuses: 
  • Central Campus (60 hectares)
  • Abbaspour School of Engineering (58 hectares)
  • Zirab Campus (10 hectares)
  • Ekbatan Campus (1.5 hectares)
  • 57 major buildings


  • ISI articles: 17860
  • 76 externally sponsored projects (2013)
  • IRR 2500 billion total budget (2014)


  • 860 faculty members